Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > PC Games > PC Games - CD/DVD Conversions > Conversion Tutorials

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #76  
Old 24-10-2012, 07:38
kumarvivek1990 kumarvivek1990 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jaipur
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
kumarvivek1990 is on a distinguished road
Can background images be added in the installer without the need of setup.cab & and setup.ini & also provide me the coding to be added in compiler(if possible)?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #77  
Old 26-10-2012, 00:55
REV0 REV0 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 998
Thanks: 63
Thanked 1,846 Times in 292 Posts
REV0 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by vasu001 View Post
1.) Well maybe it is,but before compressing the installer of game was perfectly working in both xp and 7 but now it is only working in win7[i have dual windows].

2.) before ,with original installer the game was not giving this error but now it gives in xp. [i have installed the game in 7 and its working there but not on xp].

well thats my problem..........

Also one more thing.- Do i have to keep those leftover files like compress.bat,levels1,levels2,etc. the files outside Disks 1,2,3,4 folders.
You should ask this to peterf himself because CI you used belongs to him

Quote:
Originally Posted by kumarvivek1990 View Post
can anyone tell me how to add directx setup in the installer before installing game file. I already have have the full installation on the disk and want to install it from dvd. please also tell me coding which is to be added in the install script file(i.e .iss file)
AFAIK, you can't edit current installation files to add DX.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kumarvivek1990 View Post
Can background images be added in the installer without the need of setup.cab & and setup.ini & also provide me the coding to be added in compiler(if possible)?
You need cab for backgrounds. You can do internal setup and merge cab and exe tho.
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 02-11-2012, 09:03
JacksMafia's Avatar
JacksMafia JacksMafia is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 127
Thanks: 53
Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
JacksMafia is on a distinguished road
hi guys i 'm trying to do Command And Conquer Red Alert 3-old game i know but very good one- but i'm stuck with movies folder with 3.78 gb of .vb6 files this is the codes i have tried
Quote:
-mprecomp:t-nfj:zl78,99:d0+srep+exe+delta+lzma:a1:mfbt4:d256m: fb128:mc1000:lc8
and i tried this too
Quote:
-msrep+lzma:a1:mfbt4:d256m:fb128:mc1000:lc8
and i have tried to do the job with freearc but no good i only managed to compress the rest of the game files from 3.78 gb to 1.92

any ideas?!!!

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 02-11-2012, 14:43
BAMsE's Avatar
BAMsE BAMsE is offline
The World Is Yener's
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: in front of the monitor
Posts: 344
Thanks: 49
Thanked 270 Times in 91 Posts
BAMsE is on a distinguished road
All video formats use compression so movies are poorly compressed with archivers. Only way to shrink their size is to recompress them. vb6 is some mp4 container so it'll be quite complicated.
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 20-11-2012, 02:19
Evil Boy Evil Boy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: India
Posts: 10
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Evil Boy is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by yener90 View Post
there is a tool...called setup.cab cryptor

Evil Boy
whats the advantage?!
i see no point.
If someone want a small installer can get it by simply clicking compact button and i want to knew
Reply With Quote
  #81  
Old 22-11-2012, 04:15
inovateqsa inovateqsa is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Africa
Posts: 30
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
inovateqsa is on a distinguished road
I am trying to add the video for my duke nukem to my custom installer, yet no matter what I try it simply will not work.

I Downloaded it from youtube in mp4 format, then used any video converter to convert it to avi format, and finally renamed it to "Video" and then put it in the backgrounds folder.

Is there something I am missing?

-I Originally posted this in the support section, i think that may have been the wrong place. If it is, please just delete or ignore that question.
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 22-11-2012, 05:39
REV0 REV0 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 998
Thanks: 63
Thanked 1,846 Times in 292 Posts
REV0 is on a distinguished road
You have to use following settings for yener's CI:

Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 22-11-2012, 05:53
inovateqsa inovateqsa is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Africa
Posts: 30
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
inovateqsa is on a distinguished road
Yeah, I've already seen those settings and tried them.

Any video converter doesn't have the exact setting though, so I get them as close as possible.
The only differences are in "Video Bit Rate" - which is 2000kbs, and "Audio Bitrate" - which is 192kbs.
The formats (Xvid, Mp3, Avi etc.), and the audio sample rate are all exactly the same.

Will I have to use that specific converter?
And if so - what is it's name?
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 22-11-2012, 15:58
pakrat2k2's Avatar
pakrat2k2 pakrat2k2 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 7,210
Thanks: 3,040
Thanked 8,981 Times in 3,083 Posts
pakrat2k2 is on a distinguished road
the app for video conversions --> [ SUPER 2012 build 53 ]
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 22-11-2012, 20:02
yener90 yener90 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Away
Posts: 810
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,090 Times in 217 Posts
yener90 is on a distinguished road
inovateqsa
make sure you choose MEncoder and did you tried an other installer with video? does it show there on your system?
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 23-11-2012, 06:05
inovateqsa inovateqsa is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Africa
Posts: 30
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
inovateqsa is on a distinguished road
Yeah, I also have sleeping dogs and I used a ready made conversion from this site for that one.

The video on it plays fine.

I will try with the Super 2012 converter instead. It is probably my video converter that is the problem, it does not have any option similar to MEncoder.

Last edited by inovateqsa; 23-11-2012 at 06:09.
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 29-11-2012, 02:55
inovateqsa inovateqsa is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Africa
Posts: 30
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
inovateqsa is on a distinguished road
Nope, no matter how hard I try it simply refuses to display the Video.

I use Keepvid.com to download the trailer in 720p Mp4, then use Super 2012 to convert it, then rename it to "Video", and finally put it in the setup.cab's "background" folder. It just refuses to play.

Pictures work fine.

These are the settings I am using:
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images...apimageqq.png/

(I do not have an account with imageshack - so i cannot use a direct link)

I am using CI 8.5.6.9.

Does anyone have any clue on what the problem could be?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 29-11-2012, 03:21
REV0 REV0 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 998
Thanks: 63
Thanked 1,846 Times in 292 Posts
REV0 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by inovateqsa View Post
Nope, no matter how hard I try it simply refuses to display the Video.

I use Keepvid.com to download the trailer in 720p Mp4, then use Super 2012 to convert it, then rename it to "Video", and finally put it in the setup.cab's "background" folder. It just refuses to play.

Pictures work fine.

These are the settings I am using:
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images...apimageqq.png/

(I do not have an account with imageshack - so i cannot use a direct link)

I am using CI 8.5.6.9.

Does anyone have any clue on what the problem could be?

Thanks.
Use latest version of CI perhaps ?
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 29-11-2012, 03:53
inovateqsa inovateqsa is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Africa
Posts: 30
Thanks: 8
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
inovateqsa is on a distinguished road
nah, still doesn't work.

I give up, pics it is.

-thanks anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 29-11-2012, 07:46
REV0 REV0 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 998
Thanks: 63
Thanked 1,846 Times in 292 Posts
REV0 is on a distinguished road
In fact, i just tried one of my with-video conversion and it's not working either, that's interesting, yep video function is not working anymore.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
INNO TROUBLESHOOT - Tutorials and Answers about INNO Setup REV0 Conversion Tutorials 129 21-05-2021 05:51
INNO TUTORIAL - Using Unicode and ANSI Versions of INNO Setup REV0 Conversion Tutorials 51 26-03-2015 06:57
Frequently Asked Questions Joe Forster/STA PC Games - Frequently Asked Questions 0 29-11-2005 09:48



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2020, FileForums @ https://fileforums.com