Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > PC Games

Old 07-01-2001, 21:23

gamenewbie
Making copies of safedisk protected games. Help for a newbie

We just got a new computer for Christmas so i'm a newbie to copying games. I would like to make back-up copies of some game that the kids got for Christmas, but it seems that they are protected (with Safedisk???). Can one of you experienced game copiers help me and write out some step-by-step instructions on how to make copies of some game CD's (I'm sure others are in the same boat as I). The ones I'm specifically looking to do this to are Madden 2000, FIFA 2000, flight simulator 2000, etc., but any other education you can provide would be most appreciated.
I tried using create CD (came with my system), but I get error message that the disk cannot be copied. My CD is a SONY CRX140E. Also, where do I find the correct "stuff" to do this (I keep seeing postings of something called clone CD??).
I appreciate the time take to help with this request. Hopefully one day I'll be able to contribute some value to the site.

Also another question, in alot of the fixes I read on this site, there is a comment replace the original GAME.EXE executable with the one from the extractable archive. If I look on my games (say Madden 2000), I cannot find an .EXE file?? and where is the executable archive? If anyone can explain this to me I would be most appreciative.

I await the posting reply that contains the help.

Thanks a bunch from a newbie who hopes to get some back-up game copying experience.
Sponsored Links
Old 08-01-2001, 06:12

Raks55
Dam you asked for alot of stuff in one go.

First go here
http://www.elby.de/CloneCD/english/index.htm
download CloneCD. It will only be able to write at 2 speed but i suggest you register so you can write at full speed.
Second go here
http://www.cdmediaworld.com/hardware/cdrom/cd_protections.shtml
it has info on all the protection schemes.