Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > PC Games > PC Games - CD/DVD Conversions > Conversion Tutorials

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26-07-2017, 01:18
danswano danswano is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Luxm
Posts: 314
Thanks: 218
Thanked 27 Times in 22 Posts
danswano is on a distinguished road
Question Internal Arc LZMA vs external LZMA2

Hello,
Should i consider switching to external lzma2 instead of internal lzma for better compression ratio?
What do you suggest to get the best ratio out of lzma?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 26-07-2017, 03:33
FitGirl FitGirl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Riga
Posts: 191
Thanks: 16
Thanked 231 Times in 124 Posts
FitGirl is on a distinguished road
LZMA2 usually have worster compression ratio than LZMA1, but can be faster due to saving of uncompressible blocks as is.
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to FitGirl For This Useful Post:
0xffaded (03-08-2017), 78372 (26-07-2017), danswano (26-07-2017)
  #3  
Old 27-07-2017, 03:17
Chayan Manna's Avatar
Chayan Manna Chayan Manna is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: India
Posts: 82
Thanks: 89
Thanked 112 Times in 37 Posts
Chayan Manna is on a distinguished road
You can better the compression ratio with LZMA 1 by increasing the RAM usage. That is like "d512" parameter. Increase the value of "d" ( that memory is needed to decompress) & you will get better ratio, of course other parameters must be set correctly. Decompression will be faster also but will use more RAM.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Chayan Manna For This Useful Post:
danswano (27-07-2017), Simorq (27-07-2017)
  #4  
Old 27-07-2017, 05:18
danswano danswano is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Luxm
Posts: 314
Thanks: 218
Thanked 27 Times in 22 Posts
danswano is on a distinguished road
I'm using these parameters and i can't seems to get a better compression ratio out of it no matter what i adjust
"lzma:a1:mfbt4:d180m:fb273:mc10000:lc8"
what's the better version of these parameters would be as you suggest?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27-07-2017, 05:50
shazzla shazzla is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hunnia
Posts: 223
Thanks: 410
Thanked 86 Times in 63 Posts
shazzla is on a distinguished road
imho its the best.
increase d180m to d1024m if you have enought RAM.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to shazzla For This Useful Post:
danswano (27-07-2017)
  #6  
Old 27-07-2017, 06:05
doofoo24 doofoo24 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: canada
Posts: 408
Thanks: 138
Thanked 460 Times in 227 Posts
doofoo24 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by danswano View Post
I'm using these parameters and i can't seems to get a better compression ratio out of it no matter what i adjust
"lzma:a1:mfbt4:d180m:fb273:mc10000:lc8"
what's the better version of these parameters would be as you suggest?
you need to use fazip 64x for lzma beyond d184mb because lzma built-in freearc is limited..

[External compressor:mm,dispack070,rep,tor,delta,4x4,lzma]
header = 0
packcmd = fazip -i0 compress:{compressor}{:option} <stdin> <stdout>

Last edited by pakrat2k2; 28-07-2017 at 13:01.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to doofoo24 For This Useful Post:
danswano (27-07-2017)
  #7  
Old 27-07-2017, 06:26
ChronoCross's Avatar
ChronoCross ChronoCross is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Acacia Dragons
Posts: 254
Thanks: 145
Thanked 199 Times in 115 Posts
ChronoCross is on a distinguished road
First at all internal arc LZMA is 32bit so you have a memory limitation thats why lzma_x64 was created you can use 4gb of memory the same thing with srep x64. external x64 always is better than internal x86.(fazip_x64 is the best !!!!)
LZMA and LZMA2 are different.
LZMA Better for compression ratio.
LZMA2 Better for time decompression .
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ChronoCross For This Useful Post:
danswano (27-07-2017)
  #8  
Old 27-07-2017, 09:15
LuzhinE's Avatar
LuzhinE LuzhinE is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Peru
Posts: 227
Thanks: 26
Thanked 36 Times in 29 Posts
LuzhinE is on a distinguished road
ChronoCross:

Then how would the parameters for fazip and srep X64 to use 4gb decompression
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27-07-2017, 09:48
ChronoCross's Avatar
ChronoCross ChronoCross is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Acacia Dragons
Posts: 254
Thanks: 145
Thanked 199 Times in 115 Posts
ChronoCross is on a distinguished road
I think you confused, 4gb in decompression is a requirement and not an optimization.
The optimization would be to limit the memory to decompress.
This would be during the compression in freearc "-ld512".
You can use 4gb for compress and then 512mb to decompress.

Last edited by ChronoCross; 27-07-2017 at 09:53.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28-07-2017, 00:11
1234567890123 1234567890123 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: ankara
Posts: 92
Thanks: 124
Thanked 36 Times in 19 Posts
1234567890123 is on a distinguished road
can someone give fazip x64 i haven't found it in freearc's site is broken and is there x64 arc.exe ?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 28-07-2017, 01:40
Chayan Manna's Avatar
Chayan Manna Chayan Manna is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: India
Posts: 82
Thanks: 89
Thanked 112 Times in 37 Posts
Chayan Manna is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1234567890123 View Post
can someone give fazip x64 i haven't found it in freearc's site is broken and is there x64 arc.exe ?
Here's Fazipx64.
Attached Files
File Type: rar fazip64.rar (218.2 KB, 111 views)
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Chayan Manna For This Useful Post:
1234567890123 (28-07-2017), nickwazhere2012 (30-12-2017)
  #12  
Old 01-08-2017, 17:44
LuzhinE's Avatar
LuzhinE LuzhinE is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Peru
Posts: 227
Thanks: 26
Thanked 36 Times in 29 Posts
LuzhinE is on a distinguished road
I used this parameter and it works.
lzma:a1:mfbt4:d180m:fb273:mc10000:lc8

But change d180m by :d256m and it takes longer to compress, but compresses a little more.

My question is, how do I use my cpu 100% because in the image it is only seen that it uses 50% when compressing

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-08-2017, 01:42
Simorq's Avatar
Simorq Simorq is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Iran
Posts: 642
Thanks: 3,602
Thanked 1,293 Times in 464 Posts
Simorq is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by LuzhinE View Post
I used this parameter and it works.
lzma:a1:mfbt4:d180m:fb273:mc10000:lc8

But change d180m by :d256m and it takes longer to compress, but compresses a little more.

My question is, how do I use my cpu 100% because in the image it is only seen that it uses 50% when compressing

[External compressor:rep,mm,delta,exe,exe2,4x4,lzma]
header = 0
packcmd = FAZip64 -i0 compress:{compressor}{ption} <stdin> <stdout>
unpackcmd = FAZip64 -i0 decompress:{compressor}{ption} <stdin> <stdout>

4x4:lzma: a1: mfbt4: d180m: fb273: mc10000: lc8
But the more RAM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blackbox Inno Setup Script Kurutucu Conversion Tutorials 1190 18-08-2019 22:43
Useful Dll for Inno Setup users peterf1999 Conversion Tutorials 88 01-12-2017 16:00
internal - external chip ? mike747 PSX Games 6 02-01-2003 00:44
Pioneer A05 - Internal vs External... spy CD/DVD-Writers 1 01-12-2002 22:41
PS2 Mod Chip - External or Internal Molko PS2 Games 6 28-10-2001 14:24



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2020, FileForums @ https://fileforums.com