Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > Sony PlayStation > PS2 Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-01-2005, 05:03
fratres fratres is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: germany
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
fratres
Exchanging chip in V7

I recently bought a modded PAL V7, not knowing which chip was inside. When I opened it up there was a bad surprise waiting for me: a chip with Magic III and smiley was installed, using an UBICOM-chip so it seems to me itīs not even an original, but a clone Magic. Now after many annoying hours of replaying after several freeze screens in different games, i am wondering if I could exchange the chip by myself rather easily. I have no soldering experiences, but thought maybe some of the cables could remain inside so the installation might be easier than on an unmodded console. Does anyone know if an installation of a Crystal, Infinity or maybe just a Duo2 could made rather easily or uses same solderpoints on the MB? Tried to check some installation diagrams, but is still rather hard for me to estimate the effort. And a professional install is too expensive over here.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-01-2005, 09:38
seaneyb2003's Avatar
seaneyb2003 seaneyb2003 is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 2,666
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
seaneyb2003 is an unknown quantity at this point
hey,

Unlucky with the ps2 mate that sucks, its really simple most of the wires will be fine all you have to do is resolder them on the chip and take a few of the back of the motherboard too. I would either replace them with a infinity or duo2 depends on your price range.
__________________
[COLOR=Black][B]if it isnt broke dont fix it![/B]
[B]www.consoleupgrades.co.uk
For All your console needs[/B]
[COLOR=RoyalBlue][B]UK'S No.1 I.C.E [URL=www.audiorebel.co.uk]www.audiorebel.co.uk[/URL][/B][/COLOR]
[/COLOR][COLOR=DarkSlateBlue][/COLOR]
[COLOR=Black][B][/B][/COLOR][COLOR=DarkSlateBlue][/COLOR]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-01-2005, 05:48
fratres fratres is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: germany
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
fratres
Thanx seaneyb2003, gives me a good feeling that not everythingīs lost. Already thought of selling it, what a shame for a V7. Now I want to exchange the chip and compared the installation diagrams of Crystal, Infinity, Duo2 and Magic 3, and the results: if I donīt need to desolder the now unused wires on the MB , but only insulate their ends, and if different ground connections donīt matter, itīs only a few wires that need to be changed or added:

Crystal: installing SX, TO, 3V3 and changing the W-wire-point
Infinity: installing Y, SX, 3V3 and changing the W-wire-point
Duo2: installing S, PWR, maybe change ground?

My question: could anyone tell me if these installs have different difficulties? Thougt maybe the Y-wire of the Infinity is not too easy? And PWR for Duo2 does not look too easy either. And then the S-wire of the Magic is very close to the SX-wire of Crystal and Infinity, could I leave the wires at their old solder-points? Z-point of Magic 3 also very near to TO-point of Crystal. And finally:
what is about the W-wire? Has a total different point in the Magic 3 install, could I leave it there or do I need to solder the wire to new points?
Sorry for all these detailed questions, but I am lost without help, and for all you pro-installers I hope they shouldīt be difficult to answer at all. Here is a Magic 3-installation diagram as reference (though not my install and big picture, sorry):
HTML Code:
http://www.gamefreax.de/GF_Page/modchips/playstation2/Magic3/v7/Magic3.htm
Thank you so much for any help!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-01-2005, 08:29
seaneyb2003's Avatar
seaneyb2003 seaneyb2003 is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 2,666
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
seaneyb2003 is an unknown quantity at this point
U wont need to change the sx scex or s wire at all it should be the same on any ps2 modchip.

As for power you will need to change it unless you get a duo 2 caus they run on +5v like the magic chip does. All other chips run on 3v3.As for gnd/ground you dont need to change it.

I would advise you to take the extra wires of as the electric current can make a magnet force and could do damage to the motherboard. If you feel uncomfortable with installing a chip ask someone you know or a modchipper im sure they wouldnt ask much for such a simple job.
__________________
[COLOR=Black][B]if it isnt broke dont fix it![/B]
[B]www.consoleupgrades.co.uk
For All your console needs[/B]
[COLOR=RoyalBlue][B]UK'S No.1 I.C.E [URL=www.audiorebel.co.uk]www.audiorebel.co.uk[/URL][/B][/COLOR]
[/COLOR][COLOR=DarkSlateBlue][/COLOR]
[COLOR=Black][B][/B][/COLOR][COLOR=DarkSlateBlue][/COLOR]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-01-2005, 07:57
fratres fratres is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: germany
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
fratres
Seaneyb, thanx a lot for helping me out! So do you think if I use a Duo2 (btw, are there any reports on problems and are there any major functions except non-flashability, autoboot and homebrew-stuff that duo2 does not have compared to MI/Crystal?) I could just connect the needed wires (including S-wire and PWR), and everything works? Did you check the Magic-Install-Link I posted? S has a different soldering point, you think that doesnīt matter? And could I possibly leave the spare wires in and just cut them directly above the MB-connection-point? And what about the W-wire of Crystal and MI, would I have to change my old W-wire-point?
Of course you are totally right that I should ask someone to do the install, but I donīt know anyone with soldering experiences personally, and the pro-installers over here donīt accept used chips and charge full installation fee even if wires are already installed. And also itīs kind of a challenge to do it yourself, donīt you think? So if you could possibly answer my questions? Thank you so much!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-01-2005, 08:29
seaneyb2003's Avatar
seaneyb2003 seaneyb2003 is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 2,666
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
seaneyb2003 is an unknown quantity at this point
that pictures actually wrong it doesnt matter where u put that wire if its connected to the brown reisistor or the black capacitor because there both conected together. Duo2 is a good cheap replacement and you wont need to change many wires. Well if you can send a ps2 to england i do it for you.
__________________
[COLOR=Black][B]if it isnt broke dont fix it![/B]
[B]www.consoleupgrades.co.uk
For All your console needs[/B]
[COLOR=RoyalBlue][B]UK'S No.1 I.C.E [URL=www.audiorebel.co.uk]www.audiorebel.co.uk[/URL][/B][/COLOR]
[/COLOR][COLOR=DarkSlateBlue][/COLOR]
[COLOR=Black][B][/B][/COLOR][COLOR=DarkSlateBlue][/COLOR]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-01-2005, 08:52
fratres fratres is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: germany
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
fratres
Hey, thank you for your offer, shipping costs are unreasonable high though, and the more details you teach me the more I get the impression I should change the chip myself. But thank u anyway! Tend to the Infinity or Crystal (cause everybody recommends them), but still not sure about the W-wire. If I could leave it there I might get a Crystal, so I do not need to worry about the Y-wire. Is Z-point same point as TO (the big solder point directly to the left of the Magics Z-MB-connection)?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-01-2005, 12:52
seaneyb2003's Avatar
seaneyb2003 seaneyb2003 is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 2,666
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
seaneyb2003 is an unknown quantity at this point
just take it apart and do it then no point asking all these questions caus ur gonna get mixed up doing it caus ur thinking thats that and oh somethings gone wrong, just follow the diagrams you be fine

I like the duo 2 but otherwise id use matrix infinity
__________________
[COLOR=Black][B]if it isnt broke dont fix it![/B]
[B]www.consoleupgrades.co.uk
For All your console needs[/B]
[COLOR=RoyalBlue][B]UK'S No.1 I.C.E [URL=www.audiorebel.co.uk]www.audiorebel.co.uk[/URL][/B][/COLOR]
[/COLOR][COLOR=DarkSlateBlue][/COLOR]
[COLOR=Black][B][/B][/COLOR][COLOR=DarkSlateBlue][/COLOR]
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-01-2005, 15:58
fratres fratres is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: germany
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
fratres
Sorry seaneyb, reading through my questions I do realize I really punished you with a hell bunch of unreadable detail-stuff that must be f* annoying. Forgive me, m8. I just wanted to sort out if any micro-soldering on the mb is necessary or if itīs more the bigger points that need to be connected. So maybe if I decide to put in a MI I may ask the W-wire question once again in the forum, but for now I spare you my newbie-trash.
Thank you very much for your effort and your patience, you have been a big help!
I read the comments of the others on your installs in the Picture-Thread, felt disappointed that they criticized your wire-lenght etc. For me you are close to heroism, getting to work a modded PS2 by yourself!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-01-2005, 17:09
spedmetal's Avatar
spedmetal spedmetal is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: California , USA
Posts: 1,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
spedmetal is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to spedmetal Send a message via AIM to spedmetal Send a message via Yahoo to spedmetal
The TO point for the CC is not electronically equivalent to the Magic 3's Z point.

The Magic 3's S point is the same as the CC's SX point and Infinitys SCEX point and like seaney said all chips have the same SCEX point.

I cant tell you for sure if the W point on the Magic 3 is electronically equivalent to the W point on the CC or MI. I do remember once trying to find an alternate #5 point for the Apple Pro which is the same as the Magic 3's W point and was unable to locate one, so I would have to say they are different but dont quote me on that. I might be doing an install on a V7 tonight. If I do I'll check it out for you.

EDIT:Now that I think about it I can tell you right now the Magic's W point is NOT electronically equivalent to the MI or CC's W point. On the CC and MI the W point is a BIOS point on the Magic 3 the W point is a CDX point.

I would also recommend that you have a pro do this. Waiting and saving money so you can have it done right is better then a dead console.
__________________
[color=blue][size=2][b]Click[url=http://www.ps2-scene.org/forums/showthread.php?t=25770] here [/url]to view refes. Click[url=http://www.norcalmods.com/gallery] here [/url]to view install gallery[/b][/size][/color]
[size=2][b][color=red]Mod chip installs and repair [/color][/b][/size] [url]www.norcalmods.com[/url]

Last edited by spedmetal; 06-01-2005 at 17:13.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-01-2005, 17:25
Warlock's Avatar
Warlock Warlock is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: US
Posts: 3,533
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Warlock is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by spedmetal
I would also recommend that you have a pro do this. Waiting and saving money so you can have it done right is better then a dead console.
Well put Spedmetal
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-01-2005, 00:20
seaneyb2003's Avatar
seaneyb2003 seaneyb2003 is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 2,666
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
seaneyb2003 is an unknown quantity at this point
but if you got some soldering knoledge its cool. Just take your time and look at where each wire is going.

About the installs i couldnt really care it was 1 persons oppinion and to be honest if it worked i dont give a damn its not like you can see it. Ive done plenty of installs and seen alot lot worse hehe.
__________________
[COLOR=Black][B]if it isnt broke dont fix it![/B]
[B]www.consoleupgrades.co.uk
For All your console needs[/B]
[COLOR=RoyalBlue][B]UK'S No.1 I.C.E [URL=www.audiorebel.co.uk]www.audiorebel.co.uk[/URL][/B][/COLOR]
[/COLOR][COLOR=DarkSlateBlue][/COLOR]
[COLOR=Black][B][/B][/COLOR][COLOR=DarkSlateBlue][/COLOR]
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-01-2005, 04:40
fratres fratres is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: germany
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
fratres
Hey Sped,
thanks a lot for your detailed info, now everythingīs answered. To be honest I already hoped you might interfere and give some definite answers, just didnīt dare to PM you and bother you with my newbie-probs.

Saving the money and getting a pro to do it is possibly the best option, but somehow I kinda licked blood.

And as Duo2 obviously doesnīt need any change on the mb (itīs 5V, isnīt it, as lufcfan once asked?) and as TO (CC) and 3V3 donīt look difficult either, itīs only Y (MI) and W that might cause problems. They are already covered with tin AFAIK, so maybe I should give it a try (CC to avoid Y?).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crystal Chip Review spedmetal PS2 Games 20 23-01-2005 13:25
Trying to clone an executer pro 2 mod chip vmehta211 XBox Games 7 25-06-2003 18:34
*sigh* No solder mod chip question.. DRob PS2 Games 7 04-03-2003 17:44
No Solder Mod Chip and Chip fitter UK seatgti PS2 Games 3 13-11-2002 13:44
psx mod chip maqmaqmaq PSX Games 2 08-04-2002 21:26



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2018, FileForums @ https://fileforums.com