Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > SEGA > DC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25-11-2003, 04:01
j4e j4e is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: usa
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
j4e
how do i rewrite or rearrange the ip.bin?

I'm trying to insert a logo into my ip.bin but I can't seem to get the image down to 8192 bytes.
How do I rewrite or rearrange the ip.bin described below in bold?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
pngtomr and logoinsert
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

pngtomr: convert a png to the format used in the dreamcast ip.bin

logoinsert: insert a file from pngtomr into ip.bin at the right place


* You need to have libpng to build pngtomr.

* The logo you insert with these tools appears in the bottom right corner of
the screen while the SEGA license screen is showing.

* Your image should be 320x90 or smaller, and have no more than 128 colors.

* The "normal" ip.bin has room for 8192 bytes for the image - more space can
be had by rewriting / rearranging ip.bin.


* This code has not been well tested - it seems to be working though.

* Thanks to the Bleem guys for showing that a 3rd logo like this was possible
by having done it in Bleemcast.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

adk/napalm 2001
[email protected]
http://www.napalm-x.com
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-12-2003, 16:11
Stoan Stoan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Stoan
Try smaller resolution/less colors/smaller size, those are what I can think of.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-12-2003, 16:25
crazygamelover's Avatar
crazygamelover crazygamelover is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Somewhere out there!
Posts: 855
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 1 Post
crazygamelover is on a distinguished road
There are a lot of photosuites and image programs capable of downsizing images while keeping good quality pics. I used IXLA for my avatar and then editted it with jasc automation 3 for the blinking eyes effect. perhaps this might work for you as far as shrinking down the size of an image.
rewriting an ip.bin ? Is this necessary?
__________________
[B]may the best of your past, be the worst of your future......:cool: ....[/B]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-01-2004, 02:31
Excalibur007 Excalibur007 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Dallas, TX USA
Posts: 159
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Excalibur007
I use Photoshop to make my ip.bin logos. An image can have no more than 128 colors, but sometimes I find it necessary to make it less than that. If you save in GIF format and choose to only have, say, 72 colors... (use as few as possible while keeping the quality you want), you can then resave that GIF as a PNG to get the file size you want. I have found that just because that logo-insert program says the image is small enough, doesn't mean it will work. You may get a reboot if it's a little to big. I try to keep mine around the 6KB mark, but you may go bigger without problems.

-Ex
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-01-2004, 13:42
Tsubaru's Avatar
Tsubaru Tsubaru is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 87
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Tsubaru
Open Photoshop and make your logo.
Choose Save for web...
Select PNG-8 > 8 colors.
Done.

Don't use gradient or light efects on your logo, just solid collors.

After convert the png to mr, use this program to insert your logo.mr into the ip.bin.

Link:

Logo Inserter

Choose your ip.bin
Choose your logo.mr
Confirm
Choose your ip.bin again
And insted of your logo.mr, choose the same ip.bin.
It will open a preview window with your logo placed on the Sega screen.

If you want to make a logo with a white background, use this collor on the Photoshop.

C0C0C0

I know, it's gray, but you'll see when you open the preview screen in the Logo inserter.
__________________
i will not advertise in my signature because it is not allowed in the rules

Last edited by Tsubaru; 11-01-2004 at 13:50.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2020, FileForums @ https://fileforums.com