Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > Microsoft XBox > XBox Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-04-2003, 15:30
ixmusiqxi ixmusiqxi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ixmusiqxi
XBOX to Computer ??! Network Problems

My Computer <---rj45---->xbox
i have a rj45 running from the network card in my computer to the xbox...

how do i get connected to the xbox from there...i tried flashfxp quick connect but still cant get it to work.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-04-2003, 19:09
AXmichigan's Avatar
AXmichigan AXmichigan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MDizzle
Posts: 2,545
Thanks: 0
Thanked 29 Times in 4 Posts
AXmichigan is on a distinguished road
uhh u make sure that both your comp and the pc have the same static IP?
__________________
~WoMeNlOvEr
...
so far ive moddded xboxes with:
2 Matrixes
3 Xbits

My xbox!:
-250 gig
-XBIT
-4981.06 x2
-orange led for light, matching beautifully with the orange x in the splash screen
-Component cable

my problem...solved?!:
-one of my friends says he can get about 450 files off it!... and now i havent seen him for about 4 months..and ive written him like 11 emails.. WHERE THE HELL IS HE?! :mad:
[B]OWNED! <3 TylerDurden![/B]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-04-2003, 20:03
JiveTurkey JiveTurkey is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Kookamonga(parts unknown)
Posts: 384
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
JiveTurkey
make sure its a crossover cable too
__________________
HAL3000
959.1 Zigahertz
768 Terabytes PC 2,200,000 RAM
Dual Geforce15000 2044 MB
85" holographic plasmatron 5000
and a hot sexy voice
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-04-2003, 20:17
ixmusiqxi ixmusiqxi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ixmusiqxi
on the box it says LAN rj45 is that right?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-04-2003, 00:47
PassWolf PassWolf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: US
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
PassWolf
LAN VS CROSSOVER

As I too learned from trial and error, LAN and Cross over are not the same thing. It has to do with the pin layout in the cable and the way data is transferred. A Cross over cable will be labeled as such. you need a cross over cable, a LAN will not work.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-04-2003, 00:59
JiveTurkey JiveTurkey is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Kookamonga(parts unknown)
Posts: 384
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
JiveTurkey
A LAN is a Local Area Network. RJ45 is the jack type. You could connect computers with a crossover OR straight cable and make a LAN depending on what you are connecting.

To connect a computer directly to the Box you want a crossover. Generally, a cable labeled "standard" or such is straight NOT crossover.
__________________
HAL3000
959.1 Zigahertz
768 Terabytes PC 2,200,000 RAM
Dual Geforce15000 2044 MB
85" holographic plasmatron 5000
and a hot sexy voice
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-04-2003, 05:47
rms2001's Avatar
rms2001 rms2001 is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Desolate No-where, AZ, USA
Posts: 1,061
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
rms2001
Send a message via ICQ to rms2001 Send a message via AIM to rms2001 Send a message via MSN to rms2001
JiveTurkey is right.
You can use a straight cable if you happen to have a crossover converter.
-OR-
Go buy your self a hub, switch, or router to connect to your XBox.
I would suggest a switch over a hub, b/c s hub is just dumb, a switch is also but its got some smart packet switching. And if you have broadband DSL/Cable/Sat I would get a router.
__________________
[SIZE=1]NTSC Ver1.0 XBox w/ [URL=http://www.gameshopusa.com/]X2.3 Lite[/URL] flashed with X2 4981.06
120GB WD 7200RPM 8mg cache
Samsung SDG-605B
* All stuffed in a beautiful translucent green case

UK PAL Ver1.4 XBox ([i]not chipped yet[/i])
Stock 8gb WD
Philips 6035/21
* All stuffed in a beautiful Crystal Clear case[/SIZE]


[I]Having a BMW that says “Made in the USA” is like having a Rolls-Royce that says “Made in Japan”[/I]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-04-2003, 06:06
ixmusiqxi ixmusiqxi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ixmusiqxi
so all i need is the crossover rj45 right....?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-04-2003, 06:11
rms2001's Avatar
rms2001 rms2001 is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Desolate No-where, AZ, USA
Posts: 1,061
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
rms2001
Send a message via ICQ to rms2001 Send a message via AIM to rms2001 Send a message via MSN to rms2001
Yep that would be the cheapest way to do it.
__________________
[SIZE=1]NTSC Ver1.0 XBox w/ [URL=http://www.gameshopusa.com/]X2.3 Lite[/URL] flashed with X2 4981.06
120GB WD 7200RPM 8mg cache
Samsung SDG-605B
* All stuffed in a beautiful translucent green case

UK PAL Ver1.4 XBox ([i]not chipped yet[/i])
Stock 8gb WD
Philips 6035/21
* All stuffed in a beautiful Crystal Clear case[/SIZE]


[I]Having a BMW that says “Made in the USA” is like having a Rolls-Royce that says “Made in Japan”[/I]
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-04-2003, 13:27
AXmichigan's Avatar
AXmichigan AXmichigan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MDizzle
Posts: 2,545
Thanks: 0
Thanked 29 Times in 4 Posts
AXmichigan is on a distinguished road
yea the crossover, i think wed all agree, is best and cheapest
__________________
~WoMeNlOvEr
...
so far ive moddded xboxes with:
2 Matrixes
3 Xbits

My xbox!:
-250 gig
-XBIT
-4981.06 x2
-orange led for light, matching beautifully with the orange x in the splash screen
-Component cable

my problem...solved?!:
-one of my friends says he can get about 450 files off it!... and now i havent seen him for about 4 months..and ive written him like 11 emails.. WHERE THE HELL IS HE?! :mad:
[B]OWNED! <3 TylerDurden![/B]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2020, FileForums @ https://fileforums.com