Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > Sony PlayStation > PS2 Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-05-2004, 13:29
nekromansur nekromansur is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
nekromansur
Angry GS2 problems

Just yesterday I received my Gameshark 2 and I wanted to see if I could play backup games. I have it all set up and everything, but the problem is that 1. I get these Disc Read Errors some of the times when I try to load it up. I have tried to fix these by following these instructions. 2. When I get to the part where it tells me to swap discs, I move the little white tab over, pull out the drive, pop the disc in, slide it in, pull the white tab back over, press X but then the screen either goes black for a second, then goes to the 'browser' where you can choose your mem card or your cd, or it just crashes at the loading screen. If anyone has any help as to why these dont work properly, I would appreciate it. By the way, I first tried using cheap discs, then I used a memorex and thats where it crashes at the loading screen.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-05-2004, 16:11
psx_paul's Avatar
psx_paul psx_paul is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,840
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
psx_paul is on a distinguished road
You are going to get problems when trying to boot your backups of your originals when using no modchip and a suspect no-mod boot method

I would advise you, if you want to boot your legally owned backups, to obtain/install a decent modchip device, such as Messiah 2/DMS3 etc
__________________
[b]psx_paul
Pioneer A04 fw1.33 / Liteon 40125S
PS2 v5 PAL with Messiah
Xbox v1.5 with AppleX V + 120GB HD upgrade[/b]
[url]http://dvdrbase.com[/url]
[url=http://bst-illusions.com][size=1]Like Java Arcade Games ?[/size][/url]

[center]- [url]irc://irc.efnet.net/fileforums[/url] - #Fileforums on EFNET[/center]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-05-2004, 18:43
Warlock's Avatar
Warlock Warlock is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: US
Posts: 3,536
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Warlock is on a distinguished road
You could have bought a no swap chip for what you paid for the GS2.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-05-2004, 20:21
nekromansur nekromansur is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
nekromansur
Quote:
Originally posted by Warlock
You could have bought a no swap chip for what you paid for the GS2.
I was told that to use a noswap chip, I would need a GS2 anyways. Is that not true?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-05-2004, 22:06
spedmetal's Avatar
spedmetal spedmetal is offline
Die Hard Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: California , USA
Posts: 1,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
spedmetal is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to spedmetal Send a message via AIM to spedmetal Send a message via Yahoo to spedmetal
Quote:
Originally posted by nekromansur
I was told that to use a noswap chip, I would need a GS2 anyways. Is that not true?
He said no-swap not no-solder. Yes with a no solder mod you would still need a GS/AR to boot your games, but with a no-swap you need nothing to boot the games, the no-swap does it all.
__________________
[color=blue][size=2][b]Click[url=http://www.ps2-scene.org/forums/showthread.php?t=25770] here [/url]to view refes. Click[url=http://www.norcalmods.com/gallery] here [/url]to view install gallery[/b][/size][/color]
[size=2][b][color=red]Mod chip installs and repair [/color][/b][/size] [url]www.norcalmods.com[/url]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-05-2004, 23:29
EVOEvo's Avatar
EVOEvo EVOEvo is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Middle Earth
Posts: 969
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
EVOEvo
first thing if u got a v7 ps2 or higher u wont be able to boot any copy with a gs2 no solder chip and 2nd u would need a gs2 1.9 or lower to boot copys the new gs2s wont boot copys i figerd $ony threatend them to make new gs2s that cant boot copys cause it was like 1.9 did 2.0 didnt u can find older gs2s on ebay for decent prices or get u a set of swap disk and use ur gs2 for cheating
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2020, FileForums @ https://fileforums.com