Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-01-2010, 11:24
mikehd mikehd is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mikehd is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Borderlands v1.20 [MULTI5] No-DVD/Fixed EXE crash when fast travel to Jakobs Cove

Hi all,

I've searched for others having this issue but haven't found any direct discussion so far. I'm getting crash to desktop with both the Reloaded Ver 1.1 and the Razor 1911 Ver 1.2 No-DVD/Fixed EXEs.

No-DVD/Fixed EXE: http://dl.gamecopyworld.com/?d=2010&f=rzr-blu2!7z Razor 1911

System specs:
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E6750 @ 2.66GHz
Gigabyte P35-DS3R
Award (Phoenix) F12 07/10/2008
X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB i2c/SMBus
8GB DIMM DDR2 DDR3
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280

Storage Devices
WDC WD1001FALS-00J7B1 (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 32MB Cache) : 932GB (C)
WDC WD6400AAKS-00A7B0 (640.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache) : 596GB (F)
LITE-ON DVDRW LH-18A1P (ATA66, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (G)
TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-S203B (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (H)
NWN NW1U741Q7S16 (SCSI, BD-R, HD-DVD-R, DVD+-R-DL, CD-R) : N/A (D)

Logical Storage Devices
System Reserved : 100MB (NTFS)
Video Scratch (E) : 559GB (NTFS) @ Intel Raid 0 Volume 600.1GB (RAID)
Vista64 Main (F) : 596GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD6400AAKS-00A7B0 (640.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache)
Big Disk (C) : 931GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD1001FALS-00J7B1 (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 32MB Cache)
Optical Drive (G) : N/A @ LITE-ON DVDRW LH-18A1P (ATA66, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)
Optical Drive (H) : N/A @ TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-S203B (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)
Optical Drive (D) : N/A @ NWN NW1U741Q7S16 (SCSI, BD-R, HD-DVD-R, DVD+-R-DL, CD-R)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Giga-Byte (ICH9) LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : ITE IT8718F
Audio Device : Giga-Byte (ICH9) HD Audio Controller
Serial Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte ICH8R (ICH8) SATA RAID Controller
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte JMB36X PCIE-to-SATAII/IDE RAID Controller
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte JMB36X PCIE-to-SATAII/IDE RAID Controller
USB Controller 1 : Giga-Byte (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 2 : Giga-Byte (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 3 : Giga-Byte (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 4 : Giga-Byte (ICH9) USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
USB Controller 5 : Giga-Byte (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 6 : Giga-Byte (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 7 : Giga-Byte (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 8 : Giga-Byte (ICH9) USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller (Ethernet, 1Gbps)
Network Adapter : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 6.01.7600
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 5.9

Video Drivers
GPU processor: GeForce GTX 280
Driver version: 195.62
Video BIOS version: 62.00.1C.00.80
IRQ: 16
Bus: PCI Express x16

[Components]

nvCplUI.exe 2.8.254.08 NVIDIA Control Panel
nvWSS.dll 6.14.11.9562 NVIDIA Workstation Server
nvViTvS.dll 6.14.11.9562 NVIDIA Video Server
nvMoblS.dll 6.14.11.9562 NVIDIA Mobile Server
NVSTVIEW.EXE 7.17.11.9562 NVIDIA GeForce 3D Vision
NVSTTEST.EXE 7.17.11.9562 NVIDIA 3D Vision Test Application
NVSTRES.DLL 7.17.11.9562 NVIDIA 3D Vision Module (0)
NVMCTRAY.DLL 8.17.11.9562 NVIDIA Media Center Library
nvDispS.dll 6.14.11.9562 NVIDIA Display Server
NVCPL.DLL 8.17.11.9562 NVIDIA Compatible Windows7 Display driver, Version 195.62
PhysX 09.09.0814 NVIDIA PhysX
NVCUDA.DLL 8.17.11.9562 NVIDIA CUDA 3.0.1 driver
nvGameS.dll 6.14.11.9562 NVIDIA 3D Settings Server

Audio Drivers
Realtek Azalia onboard audio
<strike>Microsoft High Definition Audio Device Driver Version 6.1.7600.16385</strike>
Updated to Realtek High Definition Audio Device Driver Version 6.0.1.5998

History and Problem
Problem started with No DVD/Fixed EXE for Ver 1.1 and 1st DLC (Zombie Island of Dr Ned).

Purchased retail DVD, install and plays great.

Initial No-DVD/Fixed EXE Ver 1.01 worked great.

Bought 1st DLC (Zombie Island of Dr Ned) and got the No-DVD/Fixed EXE from http://dl.gamecopyworld.com/?d=2009&f=rld-bdl1!7z (Reloaded). Installed official 1.1 patch first, then the fixed exe. Game works as expected until a fast travel to Jakob's Cove is attempted. When I try that, I get a crash to the desktop (Borderlands has stopped responding).

Uninstalled the Ver 1.1 Reloaded No-DVD/Fixed EXE and it's DLL and can fast travel to Jakob's Cove fine.

Saw that Razor 1911 had released a Ver 1.2 No-DVD/Fixed EXE so I thought I'd try that. Didn't buy the 2nd DLC (Moxxi Underdome).

Installed the official 1.2 patch first, then installed the Razor 1911 No-DVD/Fixed EXE. Attempt fast travel to Jakob's Cove and get the same crash to desktop (Borderlands has stopped responding).

Uninstalled the Razor 1911 fix and can again fast travel to Jakob's Cove.

Error Message
I just updated my audio drivers and retried the Reloaded Ver 1.2 exe and got the CTD and this message:


Solutions Tried
I've tried many ways to create a solid A120 image (virtual and physical) but the Securom detects the virtual drives despite using A.C.I.D. or Y.A.S.U. So no joy there.

Thanks for any advice you can offer. I hope I've provided the detail needed.

Last edited by mikehd; 09-01-2010 at 11:46. Reason: added error message
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-01-2010, 11:57
TippeX's Avatar
TippeX TippeX is offline
zeroes and ones.....
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,842
Thanks: 2
Thanked 32 Times in 22 Posts
TippeX is on a distinguished road
same happens when you use the original exe and disk?
__________________
bleh
DO NOT PM me with questions, leave that in the forums...ESPECIALLY if i dont know you...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-01-2010, 12:00
mikehd mikehd is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mikehd is on a distinguished road
No, game works fine with original (and all updated) exes and disk. In fact, I haven't had any problems with the game (other than the no cd fixes) unlike a lot of other folks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-01-2010, 15:51
DABhand DABhand is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Near my PC
Posts: 5,406
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
DABhand is on a distinguished road
Try running in administrator mode?

Did you install to its default path, and then moved the game to a different folder?

And its possible the crack is for the newer DLC out there.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-01-2010, 16:35
mikehd mikehd is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mikehd is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by DABhand View Post
Try running in administrator mode?

Did you install to its default path, and then moved the game to a different folder?

And its possible the crack is for the newer DLC out there.
Yes, I tried running the No-DVD/Fixed EXE as administrator, still crashes.

I installed to default path, did not move anything from default.

The 1.2 crack is for the official Ver 1.2 patch which supports the 2nd DLC (Moxxi) but doesn't require the DLC.

It shows the same behavior with the Ver 1.1 crack for the official 1.1 patch that supports the 1st DLC (Zombie Island).

Again, I currently have the game patched to 1.2 official and it runs great, no problems with fast travel to Jakob's Cove. It's only when I put in the cracked 1.2 exe that the CTD happens when I try to fast travel to Jakob's Cove.

thanks...
__________________
cheers,

mikehd
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-01-2010, 16:58
DABhand DABhand is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Near my PC
Posts: 5,406
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
DABhand is on a distinguished road
perhaps a missed trigger, but what im trying to say is the crack may have been done with the 2nd DLC in mind.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-01-2010, 17:04
Sasco Sasco is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Sasco
I'm also running Windows 7 X64 but when I try the 1.20 razor no cd with the 1.20 patched game it won't even run, getting runtime errors!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-01-2010, 18:15
mikehd mikehd is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mikehd is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by DABhand View Post
perhaps a missed trigger, but what im trying to say is the crack may have been done with the 2nd DLC in mind.
You think the 1.2 crack requires the 2nd DLC installed?

I got the same behavior with the 1.1 crack and I have the 1st DLC installed.

oh well, it's only a cd check.
__________________
cheers,

mikehd
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-01-2010, 18:16
mikehd mikehd is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mikehd is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sasco View Post
I'm also running Windows 7 X64 but when I try the 1.20 razor no cd with the 1.20 patched game it won't even run, getting runtime errors!
Does it run with out the crack?
__________________
cheers,

mikehd
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-01-2010, 18:39
DABhand DABhand is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Near my PC
Posts: 5,406
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
DABhand is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikehd View Post
You think the 1.2 crack requires the 2nd DLC installed?

I got the same behavior with the 1.1 crack and I have the 1st DLC installed.

oh well, it's only a cd check.
Its possible, not sure if the DLC's included changed executables to include the data, or its like FO3 where you can select seperate.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-01-2010, 18:41
mikehd mikehd is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mikehd is on a distinguished road
I guess since I did buy the 1st DLC and the crack for the 1.1 patch gives me the same problem, I'm thinking it's not expecting the DLC to be installed.

but I've been wrong before!
__________________
cheers,

mikehd
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-01-2010, 21:34
ShadowDuke ShadowDuke is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 392
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
ShadowDuke is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikehd View Post
Again, I currently have the game patched to 1.2 official and it runs great, no problems with fast travel to Jakob's Cove. It's only when I put in the cracked 1.2 exe that the CTD happens when I try to fast travel to Jakob's Cove.
I've the Game original, updated to 1.2 - with or without Crack no Problems traveling to Jakobs Cove.

I don't think it's a crack problem, somewhere in your machine. Never had any Problems.

Win7 x64

Last edited by ShadowDuke; 09-01-2010 at 21:36.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-01-2010, 21:37
mikehd mikehd is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mikehd is on a distinguished road
Except it occurs on my wife's pc too with different (but similar) hardware specs, same OS.

???
__________________
cheers,

mikehd
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-01-2010, 03:08
[Psych] [Psych] is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: In a heap :-)
Posts: 201
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
[Psych] is on a distinguished road
Has anyone tried the mini-image method? Won't work for everyone, but i'd say it will for a lot/most. This way you avoid all modified files, and you'll know right away if it's a crack issue or not.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-01-2010, 06:47
DABhand DABhand is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Near my PC
Posts: 5,406
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
DABhand is on a distinguished road
Just as a precaution mike, try disabling your AV program and stay offline and try the crack. It could be your AV is constantly checking it and its causing probs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2020, FileForums @ https://fileforums.com