Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > Microsoft XBox > XBox Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 20-12-2006, 15:09
sharpie392 sharpie392 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: somewhere out there
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sharpie392 is on a distinguished road
need a new xbox hard drive

I had my friend try and put some mod files on my hard drive. I got it back and it made some strange noise as if something was loose when i hooked it up. Is there a way i can either get an xbox hard drive w/ all the basic files? If not can i take another hard drive and put those files on it, and where do i get those files? Is it possible to just put mod files on it and install a mod chip w/ out having original bios?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 20-12-2006, 19:56
sharpie392 sharpie392 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: somewhere out there
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sharpie392 is on a distinguished road
I also do not have a mod chip installed
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22-12-2006, 05:22
Quall999's Avatar
Quall999 Quall999 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: In a garbage can, like Oscar
Posts: 3,361
Thanks: 0
Thanked 20 Times in 4 Posts
Quall999 is on a distinguished road
First of all, you will need a modchip to do anything. Otherwise, you will just keep getting HDD errors and will not even be able to boot to an exploited gamesave. I don't know what your friend did, but unless he unlocked your xbox HDD before doing it, he would be doing nothing good with it.

Once you install a modchip, you will be able to boot to a homebrewn app like evolution X. From there, you can format a new HDD.. You can also find a utility called "Slayers auto installer", which will format AND copy original files to the HDD.
__________________
--v1.0 [COLOR=Gray]case modded[/COLOR] Xbox with a [COLOR=DarkGreen]160gb[/COLOR] HDD upgrade[URL="irc://irc.efnet.net/fileforums"] [/URL]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22-12-2006, 12:18
sharpie392 sharpie392 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: somewhere out there
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sharpie392 is on a distinguished road
how do i unlock the drive? i dont think my friend was able to put any files on it, possibly because it was not unlocked
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22-12-2006, 18:14
sharpie392 sharpie392 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: somewhere out there
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sharpie392 is on a distinguished road
i got to the slayer site and ended up having to get adobe. I ogt it and downloaded the hashing utility and manual, is the hashing utility what i need to put the files onto the hd?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23-12-2006, 07:53
Quall999's Avatar
Quall999 Quall999 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: In a garbage can, like Oscar
Posts: 3,361
Thanks: 0
Thanked 20 Times in 4 Posts
Quall999 is on a distinguished road
Slayers auto installer is an xbox application. It is pretty hard to find it on a website due to legal issues. You can try torrents or xbins (google em). The hash utility is used to determine whether or not the copy of Slayers, which you downloaded from wherever, is an actual copy and not a "fake". Other than checking for a correct signature, it won't help you.

Evolution X (slayers is evoX with additional utilities) has the ability to unlock your drive. You would need to unlock it WHILE the HDD was connected to the its original xbox. If the drive doesn't boot in your xbox, then it is probably destroyed. Once you get a chip you can try to unlock it so you can reinstall everything, but no guarantees that the thing will ever work again.

Not to be mean, but the locked hard-drive is not exactly something that isn't well known. Your friend shouldn't have even touched your console if he didn't even know about the locked mobo connection. Was your xbox actually a test-box for him?
__________________
--v1.0 [COLOR=Gray]case modded[/COLOR] Xbox with a [COLOR=DarkGreen]160gb[/COLOR] HDD upgrade[URL="irc://irc.efnet.net/fileforums"] [/URL]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23-12-2006, 21:13
sharpie392 sharpie392 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: somewhere out there
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sharpie392 is on a distinguished road
yeah my friend knows a lot, but some stuff he dsnt, but he acts like he does anyway so i dnt know what he did to it, cause now theres something rattling in it we both are pretty new to modding, so we thought that by just putting the bios on the hard drive it would work from there, and no mod chip would be necessary, i was bein lazy cause i didnt wanna pay for a mod chip i also thought there was a way to flash the xbox chip and not buy a mod chip, though im sure figuring that out wou7ld be monumental
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23-12-2006, 22:19
DABhand DABhand is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Near my PC
Posts: 5,406
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
DABhand is on a distinguished road
He didnt open your HDD that would be sacrillage lol

But as a rule of thumb, if someone brags they can do this and that, keep away from them lol

Rattling inside you say?

If he didnt open, he may have done a swaperoony trick, his may have been dmg'd and he got yours for a trade. Or is it the same HDD you gave to him? If in the future you do again, mark it so you know its yours or not, like a small unnoticeable mark only you know.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27-12-2006, 07:29
Quall999's Avatar
Quall999 Quall999 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: In a garbage can, like Oscar
Posts: 3,361
Thanks: 0
Thanked 20 Times in 4 Posts
Quall999 is on a distinguished road
I think he ripped out his HDD and stuffed it in his box to try and install a phoenix bios loader softmod. The HDD would fail in any other xbox if it was not first unlocked. If he did anything to the drive while it was locked, it may have become damaged. Locking is for security.

Also, there was some mention of bios flashing on the mobo. You can do this for xbox v1-v1.5. It is not possible with v1.6 xboxes. V1-V1.1 xboxes have a 1mb bios flash, so it can be split to hold multiple bios. v1.2+ xboxes have a 256k flash, so you can only put 1 bios onto the chip.

Basically, it means that if you have xbox live, you need an original bios. Only v1-v1.1 xboxes have the ability to hold both a hacked and original bios, so you can switch between them.
__________________
--v1.0 [COLOR=Gray]case modded[/COLOR] Xbox with a [COLOR=DarkGreen]160gb[/COLOR] HDD upgrade[URL="irc://irc.efnet.net/fileforums"] [/URL]
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27-12-2006, 12:36
sharpie392 sharpie392 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: somewhere out there
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sharpie392 is on a distinguished road
how do i flash the bios on the xbox with the files?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 29-12-2006, 07:49
Quall999's Avatar
Quall999 Quall999 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: In a garbage can, like Oscar
Posts: 3,361
Thanks: 0
Thanked 20 Times in 4 Posts
Quall999 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharpie392 View Post
how do i flash the bios on the xbox with the files?
Flashing the on board bios requires you to solder various parts of the mother board in order to allow the flash chip to be reflashed. You will also need to wire specific points together if you want to add a bios switch. Your xbox needs to be working so you can boot to an exploit, which means that your damaged HDD disables you from flashing the chip.
__________________
--v1.0 [COLOR=Gray]case modded[/COLOR] Xbox with a [COLOR=DarkGreen]160gb[/COLOR] HDD upgrade[URL="irc://irc.efnet.net/fileforums"] [/URL]
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 29-12-2006, 17:55
sharpie392 sharpie392 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: somewhere out there
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sharpie392 is on a distinguished road
if i get a new hd how or where can i get original xbox software to put on it?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 30-12-2006, 09:41
Quall999's Avatar
Quall999 Quall999 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: In a garbage can, like Oscar
Posts: 3,361
Thanks: 0
Thanked 20 Times in 4 Posts
Quall999 is on a distinguished road
Slayers evox auto-installer v2.7 will restore your HDD's software to original state. It contains all files needed and will copy them automatically. It will also format new drives.

The site is here but the software is not listed for legal reasons. Google or xbins it.
http://slayer.xbox-scene.com/
__________________
--v1.0 [COLOR=Gray]case modded[/COLOR] Xbox with a [COLOR=DarkGreen]160gb[/COLOR] HDD upgrade[URL="irc://irc.efnet.net/fileforums"] [/URL]
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 31-12-2006, 17:31
sharpie392 sharpie392 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: somewhere out there
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sharpie392 is on a distinguished road
is it possible to install the files on another hd?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-01-2007, 00:47
SirMaverick SirMaverick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: HOUSTON
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SirMaverick is on a distinguished road
Hey sharpie, I softmodded my box, it works great, I used auto installer deluxe. An awsome tool. Although I had to flash my box with evox. If you are still interested, pm me or post a reply. Do you still have your original unmodded hard drive?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amerzone From Hard Drive headpig PC Games 4 23-05-2006 10:04
Frequently Asked Questions Joe Forster/STA PC Games - Frequently Asked Questions 0 29-11-2005 09:48
Cant copy or create to F Drive on XBOX pluupy XBox Games 3 27-10-2002 09:28
hard drive bay on ps2 ron173 PS2 Games 1 03-08-2002 19:57
Running games from hard drive. ISO question Obsessed PC Games 1 07-06-2002 22:26



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2020, FileForums @ https://fileforums.com