Go Back   FileForums > Game Backup > PC Games > PC Games - CD/DVD Conversions > Conversion Tutorials

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-02-2018, 18:38
ZakirAhmad ZakirAhmad is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Kmr
Posts: 290
Thanks: 56
Thanked 54 Times in 37 Posts
ZakirAhmad is on a distinguished road
it is about cls srep by Profrager

is it possible with cls srep by Profrager to avoid creating srep temp file on disk. I mean i only want to use memory (ram) for decompression.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-02-2018, 21:48
shazzla shazzla is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hunnia
Posts: 223
Thanks: 411
Thanked 86 Times in 63 Posts
shazzla is on a distinguished road
Use Razor's cls-srep. it doesnt create tmp file.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to shazzla For This Useful Post:
Jiva newstone (10-02-2018)
  #3  
Old 11-02-2018, 02:32
-NORO- -NORO- is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: France
Posts: 42
Thanks: 44
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
-NORO- is on a distinguished road
Yes it is possible , just remove srepinit or srepinside function from your .iss
Quote:
if not SrepInit(AddBackSlash(ExpandConstant('{app}')),512 ,0) then
ISDoneError := True;
However its buggy , for example if decompression memory is 6 gb and if you have only 4 gb free ram, it will write 4 gb temp files in ram memory and after that crashes and will not write left 2 gb into disk
Unfortunately i didnt manage to fix this issue.
Razor's cls-srep is maybe a little bit slower than Profrager's one but it works great
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to -NORO- For This Useful Post:
ZakirAhmad (11-02-2018)
  #4  
Old 11-02-2018, 08:36
FitGirl FitGirl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Riga
Posts: 192
Thanks: 16
Thanked 232 Times in 125 Posts
FitGirl is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZakirAhmad View Post
is it possible with cls srep by Profrager to avoid creating srep temp file on disk. I mean i only want to use memory (ram) for decompression.
Never do that for public. Only if you make conversions for yourself and can be sure you will always have enough RAM for decompression.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to FitGirl For This Useful Post:
ZakirAhmad (12-02-2018)
  #5  
Old 16-02-2018, 21:06
artag artag is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: somewhere
Posts: 20
Thanks: 9
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
artag is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Never do that for public. Only if you make conversions for yourself and can be sure you will always have enough RAM for decompression.
Correct, depending on how much data you fed to srep, decompression memory can be very high (more than 10GB). Are you sure you have enough?

You can also play with l and c settings to see if that helps with memory requirements, but you may lose compression. Do some testings.

Good luck
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17-02-2018, 08:00
ZakirAhmad ZakirAhmad is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Kmr
Posts: 290
Thanks: 56
Thanked 54 Times in 37 Posts
ZakirAhmad is on a distinguished road
I compressed mad max from 32 gb to 4.83gb using ztool srep lolz but while extracting it is creating srep virtual memory of 20gb while Fitgirls create only 6GB of virtual memory. please help.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18-02-2018, 09:36
elit elit is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: sun
Posts: 255
Thanks: 180
Thanked 315 Times in 113 Posts
elit is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZakirAhmad View Post
I compressed mad max from 32 gb to 4.83gb using ztool srep lolz but while extracting it is creating srep virtual memory of 20gb while Fitgirls create only 6GB of virtual memory. please help.
This depend on ":mem{##}g" parameter of srep that you specify during compression. It will use RAM up to that much(during decompression) and the rest will go to srep-tmp file. If you want to avoid tmp completely dont specify this parameter, but decompression will fail if it need more than you have. To control memory(and in turn compression), use "l" parameter(not "c" as was suggested, although that one affect to some degree as well), like ":l1k" for example. "l" parameter is the key here. Then there are other options like limiting max size of match stored etc., but I think this is enough.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18-02-2018, 10:04
ZakirAhmad ZakirAhmad is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Kmr
Posts: 290
Thanks: 56
Thanked 54 Times in 37 Posts
ZakirAhmad is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by elit View Post
This depend on ":mem{##}g" parameter of srep that you specify during compression. It will use RAM up to that much(during decompression) and the rest will go to srep-tmp file. If you want to avoid tmp completely dont specify this parameter, but decompression will fail if it need more than you have. To control memory(and in turn compression), use "l" parameter(not "c" as was suggested, although that one affect to some degree as well), like ":l1k" for example. "l" parameter is the key here. Then there are other options like limiting max size of match stored etc., but I think this is enough.
i tried the mem parameter of srep but it seems the srepinit fuxtion of isdone is overriding my settings of memory usage by step. is their a way to write memory like 80%-512mb in srepinit fun of isdone.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18-02-2018, 10:07
78372 78372 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Bangladesh
Posts: 650
Thanks: 772
Thanked 939 Times in 309 Posts
78372 is on a distinguished road
Just don't use srepinit
__________________
NOT AVAILABLE
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18-02-2018, 10:11
ZakirAhmad ZakirAhmad is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Kmr
Posts: 290
Thanks: 56
Thanked 54 Times in 37 Posts
ZakirAhmad is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by 78372 View Post
Just don't use srepinit
i guess srepinit creates cls.ini for srep but if i dont use it setup crashes.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 21-02-2018, 09:33
ZakirAhmad ZakirAhmad is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Kmr
Posts: 290
Thanks: 56
Thanked 54 Times in 37 Posts
ZakirAhmad is on a distinguished road
i have no idea why srep temp keeps on grow bigger and how fitgirl in first repack of mad max limited to 5.5gb.
however i do known in first repack of madmax she used cls srep by Profrager without exe while in second repack of madmax she used cls srep with cls srep x64.exe and cls srep x86.exe
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 21-02-2018, 09:51
78372 78372 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Bangladesh
Posts: 650
Thanks: 772
Thanked 939 Times in 309 Posts
78372 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZakirAhmad View Post
i have no idea why srep temp keeps on grow bigger and how fitgirl in first repack of mad max limited to 5.5gb.
however i do known in first repack of madmax she used cls srep by Profrager without exe while in second repack of madmax she used cls srep with cls srep x64.exe and cls srep x86.exe
While installing, go to temp folder to see her cls.ini to know her trick for less temps
__________________
NOT AVAILABLE
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 21-02-2018, 18:48
ZakirAhmad ZakirAhmad is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Kmr
Posts: 290
Thanks: 56
Thanked 54 Times in 37 Posts
ZakirAhmad is on a distinguished road
the cls.ini in her tmp folder contains mem = 484b, irrespective of this her srep uses my full ram as if memory is given in percentage.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 24-02-2018, 09:35
ZakirAhmad ZakirAhmad is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Kmr
Posts: 290
Thanks: 56
Thanked 54 Times in 37 Posts
ZakirAhmad is on a distinguished road
i tried to use parameters like d1g and a0 while compressing with srep but still srep need 15gb of virtual memory.
i wonder how fitgirl archieved mad max.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 24-02-2018, 19:01
doofoo24 doofoo24 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: canada
Posts: 408
Thanks: 138
Thanked 460 Times in 227 Posts
doofoo24 is on a distinguished road
if you installing the game on ssd see total host writes before and after th setup and see the total amount of gb written to the ssd...
if there no temp file as you say then the differents should be the game size...
or use srep 3.93a and see the decomprssion ram after srep finishes
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Compression Methods for 'Specific' Games. Q&A JustFun Conversion Tutorials 3066 Today 00:23
Soma gatosky1620 PC Games - CD/DVD Conversions 2 01-11-2019 05:04
blue screen while compressing using srep aswadd Conversion Tutorials 7 16-12-2017 10:18
[Solved] Disk full in compression algorithm srep aswadd Conversion Tutorials 19 22-09-2016 12:15
Commands use in Srep and Precomp red01 PC Games 2 18-06-2013 05:55



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2020, FileForums @ https://fileforums.com