FileForums

FileForums (https://fileforums.com/index.php)
-   Conversion Tutorials (https://fileforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=55)
-   -   A little question about FreeArc and hugh files amount (https://fileforums.com/showthread.php?t=102319)

K4miKaZe 11-10-2018 05:51

A little question about FreeArc and hugh files amount
 
Hi, i have a little question. Every time i use Ultraarc on games with hugh amount of files it doesnt start to compress after 1-3 hours depending on files amount.
For an example, i started yesterday again with FFXV (it has over 60k of files). It tooks 2-3 hours to even start with the first step in freearc. I just finished now and doing the last FF game on the series, this one has 40k files and its there for about 1 hour doing nothing. I already made a test 2 weeks ago, seems that there is no problem with folders with 10k or 20k files, but when they have more than 25k or maybe 30k it takes long long time to start.

So my question is, is there any workaround for this? I dont like asking things but i searched on the forums and didnt found anything related to this (maybe i didnt searched for correct keywords).

Many many thanks !!!! ;)

KaktoR 11-10-2018 06:36

UltraArc use some command for FreeArc I guess.

If you compress all the files with batch compressor it will start immediatly (after 1-2 minutes).

K4miKaZe 11-10-2018 07:15

Quote:

Originally Posted by KaktoR (Post 476257)
UltraArc use some command for FreeArc I guess.

If you compress all the files with batch compressor it will start immediatly (after 1-2 minutes).

As always, many thanks KaktoR. I will try with batch later when i finish with this game. About the "Ultraarc use some command for FreeArc", is it possible that the problem is the "cache" option for FreeArc?

Thanks KaktoR !!!!

KaktoR 11-10-2018 07:17

No, --cache option has nothing to do with this.

K4miKaZe 11-10-2018 07:25

Quote:

Originally Posted by KaktoR (Post 476259)
No, --cache option has nothing to do with this.

Ok, thanks again !!!

I will test it later with batch, at least for games with over 30k files. All was working fine until this two games grrrrr.

Bulat 28-10-2018 01:16

I bet it's smth UA-specific. Try to compress these games directly with FA - it should start immediately

.... oh, well, it's not sorting but checking file contents to determine file types. it may took a long time, mainly due to disk seeking, but anyway hour+ looks way too much for 60k files

K4miKaZe 28-10-2018 02:11

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bulat (Post 476610)
I bet it's smth UA-specific. Try to compress these games directly with FA - it should start immediately

.... oh, well, it's not sorting but checking file contents to determine file types. it may took a long time, mainly due to disk seeking, but anyway hour+ looks way too much for 60k files

Yeah, it has something to do with the initial sorting of files but it doesnt have impact on the SSD or HDD drive. Looking at the task manager disk use is less then 1%, ram is only few mb but it has a 25% on cpu impact. This begins only when i get games with over 30k. Less then 30k should start inmediatly or some seconds. Also works fine without using ultraarc so it has something to do with UA. Anyway for games over 30k i make it now with batch as KaktoR told me and its fine but would be nice if this can be solved.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:42.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2000-2020, FileForums @ https://fileforums.com