View Full Version : Modchips.cc
Hull_chipper
26-03-2004, 02:18
Modchips.cc no longer have ANY modchips on their website! Does anybody know why?
I wondered about this myself Craig, No modchips for PSX, PS2 or Xbox are on their website. Its been like that for about a week.
Install diagrams are still there.
ShadowKnyght
28-03-2004, 03:13
:eek: :confused: OMG - that is scary- they better just be no longer dealing with the general public...
They were such a good wholesale contact to have... would be a shame to loose them. :(
Hull_chipper
28-03-2004, 05:48
I spoke to Jason a few days ago & there is nothing to worry about ;)
You may want to try emailing though.
ShadowKnyght
28-03-2004, 22:40
Yeah i also spoke to him, was just a pay pal thing.
Officially pay pal and ebay do not allow the sale and purchase of modification devices via their system - it is part of their terms and conditions. So to comply they removed reference to such devices from their site.
spedmetal
29-03-2004, 12:07
Hmmm the same thing happened to me not to long ago. Got a nasty email from PayPal that said I needed to stop using there service or have my account terminated.
It’s all good now though I have a merchant credit card service that doesn’t care about mod chips.
How is the-console-corner (http://www.the-console-corner.com/prod05.htm) ? They sell a LOT of different modchips, but are they fake? I'm thinking about either the Magic V (for V7) or the DUO. Is China Magic the official manufacturer of Magic V?
shadow, just because they removed the chips doesnt mean they got busted.. they prob just switching payment systems.
ShadowKnyght
30-03-2004, 00:46
I never suggested they got busted.
And the whole issue is they wanted to keep the pay pal account and keep using it for that site hence the removal of the mods...
but purchase is still accepted by those who know them as a good source - obviously though new customers are going to become less and less unless they create a new site to seperately promote the chips.
yeah paypals got this gay thing now if u sell mods or anything as the such they can shut ur pp account down u know only reason they do this is cause ebay owns them and ebay is gay like that but all modcc would have to do is open a new pp account and list on there page they accept paypal and when a order is given give the buyer ur info and tell the buyer to leave all fields blank when paying with pp then they can accept money still ;)
Hull_chipper
30-03-2004, 01:38
All Paypal actually request is that you remove any links to them if you are selling modchips. Modchips.cc obviously (for their own reasons) wish to keep the paypal banner on their site.
Is the-console-corner (http://www.the-console-corner.com/prod05.htm) a reliable place to buy authentic modchips? What about modchips.ca (http://www.modchip.ca/products/ps2/index.php) ?
spedmetal
30-03-2004, 10:39
The console corner sucks ass!!
Spedmetal are you serious?? I actually just ordered the Magic V for the PS2 V7 from modchip.ca (http://www.modchip.ca/products/ps2/index.php) because they were emphasizing that THEY carried the authentic chips, and this thread (http://www.fileforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=59589&highlight=magic) here showed that the-console-corner (http://the-console-corner.com) had dubious modchip descriptions.
Can anyone else confirm this?? I just dropped $38 for a Magic V because I thought the guarantee for an authentic chip was worth the $13 premium! :mad:
spedmetal
30-03-2004, 15:27
The console corner sucks ass!
Hull_chipper
30-03-2004, 15:28
Originally posted by DJFury
I thought the guarantee for an authentic chip was worth the $13 premium!
Oldest trick in the book m8, are you more likely to buy from me if I double all my prices (please say yes, please say yes, please say yes) :D :D :D
Of course the premium in price wasn't what drove me to order from them, but the claims posted ALL over their website that they carried authentic chips. That, and a more professional looking website than www.the-console-corner.com did convince me to buy from them. But all this aside, has anyone had any actual experience dealing with www.modchip.ca? I paid with Amex, so I can always dispute the charge.
Read this claim (http://www.modchip.ca/install/ps2/magic/magicfakes.php) by them and tell me if you wouldn't think they were reliable. Also, Bighap and Warlock both recommended this site in a previous thread (titled Magic V or Duo).
spedmetal
30-03-2004, 15:51
The console corner sucks ass!
hey Dj check out this post about modchip.ca seems there selling clones as well
http://www3.webhosting.cx/~ps2newz/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=21629
spedmetal
30-03-2004, 15:54
The console corner sucks ass!
and sells clones
spedmetal
30-03-2004, 15:59
The console corner sucks ass!
Has a cheesy site and sells clones!
I JUST got this email from them regarding the clones:
You do not need to worry about the Magic chips because we buy them from the original manufacturer in Asia. If you noticed, we have pulled the clone chip that you are talking about from the website. We have had some concerns regarding this whole issue and are just being cautious.
YOU ARE GETTING AN ORIGINAL MAGIC CHIP AS WE ARE THE OFFICIAL MAGIC RESELLER.
Sincerely,
Marc,
Modchip.Ca.
What do you guys think, are they on their way back to respectability? I also asked them if they would pricematch to www.the-console-corner.com, I'll post what they come back with.
spedmetal
30-03-2004, 16:13
WOW well that’s good to hear. Haven’t seen anything like that posted over at newz. Yeah they can always put them selves back, but it may take time. I honestly hope they do regain there reputation.
Even better news - www.modchip.ca has agreed to pricematch to www.the-console-corner.com. Looks like they're taking everyone's complaints seriously, although I'm sure it will take more time for people to fully trust them again.
You know how much modchip.ca is paying for there magic v clones ? heh like $5 each..
How much are authentic Magic V chips?
vBulletin® v3.8.7, Copyright ©2000-2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.